2018 Transitional Maintenance of Certification Program (tMOC)

ABAM has implemented a new registration and billing cycle in order to align with changes that have occurred in addiction medicine credentialing.

The first phase of the new cycle will begin mid July and end September 15, 2018.  The final phase will be completed in 2019 converting to a June-June billing cycle.  The December 15 completion date for LLSA (Part 2) will remain unchanged.

The phased in timeline and billing cycles for years 2018 and 2019 is below.


SEPTEMBER 15, 2018:  Completion of  tMOC fee and medical license update


JUNE 1, 2019:  Completion of  tMOC fee and medical license update

Complete your tMOC requirements by clicking on the tMOC Web Portal tab or by using the new tMOC web portal: https://moc.addictionmedicinefoundation.org/  (Please bookmark this new URL).  Your login credentials have not changed.

Time-Limited Diplomates, 2018 Requirements 

Complete a total of 26 CME credits will be due on an annual basis – Due December 15th of each year

  • 9 Self-Assessment Modules (SAMs)
  • 17 AMA PRA Category 1™ Addiction CME

Not-Time-Limited Diplomates, 2018

Completion on the portal or the form below to complete: Part I: Licensure and Verification


Not-Time-Limited Tmoc Part I: Licensure and Verification Form
Time-Limited Tmoc Part I: Licensure and Verification Form

ABAM offers a Transitional Maintenance of Certification program for its current diplomates and a public listing of physicians who hold active ABAM certification status. In March, 2016 the American Board of Medical Specialties formally recognized addiction medicine as a multi-specialty subspecialty. Future certification examinations in addiction medicine will be administered by the American Board of Preventive Medicine.